Ten Over-The-Top Wedding Cakes You’ll Actually Like

I think the fanciest wedding I have ever been to was also my first gay one. My friends Tom and Drew got married on a hilltop looking a valley in southern Sonoma, CA. California Supreme Court Chief Justice Ron George was there, and I sat behind San Francisco mayor Gavin Newsom during the ceremony. (He arrived late.)

Image

Winter wedding cake from Brides.com.

It was spectacular. Once we got into the reception tent – which was actually three connected tents with different themes and lighting – my fiancé observed a striking detail. On the dancefloor, sitting on a thin wooden pedestal, was a beautiful, miniature, crimson pagoda.

It probably extended three feet into the air, and if you looked closely it had little rooms inside.

“What do you think that is?” he asked me.

“I think that’s the wedding cake.”

“No way,” he said “It has interiors.

You can guess how this story ends: later in the evening at a key, hushed moment, the handsome couple approached the pagoda, took out a knife, and carefully sliced out a portion of the second story.

I loved it. I don’t know if anyone actually ate pagoda that night, but the theater of it was great. I’ve gathered here some of my favorite magical cakes from Pinterest, in honor of Tom and Drew.

Image

My fiance would actually love this wedding cake from disneyweddings.com. But I worry about the frosting-to-cake ratio. Also, never living it down.

Image

You like a Tiffany Lamp? How about a Tiffany glass wedding cake? From trendybride.net.

Great Gatsby Cake

Will you still love me when I’m no longer young and beautiful?

New Museum Wedding Cake

A New Museum wedding cake? Touché, Bowery hipsters. Touché. http://www.gateaux-inc.com/cakes/

Tiffany Blue Cake

Were we talking about Tiffany before? To me this looks like a giant petit four, which is basically something I would end up living inside of during one of my dreams. From http://www.moongateweddingeventplanner.com.

Cameo Wedding Cake

You may not think this is too outlandish, until you look closely and realize that there are FACES IN THE FLOWERS. It’s a cameo cake! From http://www.creativecakefactory.com.

Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Cake

Now, on the left here, you’ve got a cake that I swear you would like if it wasn’t staged in a gym that was hosting an “Under The Sea”-themed prom. The cake on the right you’d like even if it was in your garbage can. From http://www.icakeideas.com and http://www.weddingpartyapp.com.

I don't know where these came from but if I saw them at someone else's wedding, I would hope I got a slice with some of the decoration on it.

I don’t know where these came from but if I saw them at someone else’s wedding, I would hope I got a slice with some of the decoration on it.

Leave a Reply

